Showing posts with label Concert Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Concert Reviews. Show all posts

August 25, 2012

Outside Lands: The Good


The 5th annual Outside Lands Music Festival brought the rock August 10-12th in San Francisco. Set in woodsy Golden Gate Park, festival goers got to experience a wonderful blend of nature and metropolitan in one of the best festivals in Nor Cal. With big-name headliners this year, one might think that this fest might've lost its down-to-earth vibe. Turns out we won't have to worry about that. Not only was the venue fantastic, the food absolutely delicious, and the people friendly and ready to have a good time, the musical acts were impressive and just plain fun. Here are some of Write To The Beat's favorite acts from the weekend!

(See all of our photos here!)


Definitely my favorite act of the weekend, hands down. I never would have expected such an enjoyable and amusing show when I cruised over to the smallest stage Saturday afternoon. Joshua Tillman, formerly of Fleet Foxes, performed at the festival under the moniker Father John Misty. He was certainly one of the most pleasant surprises of the weekend, capturing the audience with his witty banter and jokes, sultry dance moves, and killer back-up band. The band's lead guitarist displayed incredible talent, shredding on some rocking solos as the entire band jumped and jived to their music.


The first band to play on the Twin Peaks stage this weekend was PAPA, a four-piece group led by lead singer and drummer (previously of the band Girls) Darren Weiss. The crowd was loving the energy as they rocked through a 45 minute engaging set of their tunes. PAPA had a really strong turnout even though they had an early set, with many dancing and jumping to the band's lively music. They were clearly a fan favorite, and PAPA is bound to be going places this upcoming year.


The Icelandic band Sigur Rós performed an electrifying set on Saturday night. Perhaps it was because Metallica was performing on the main stage that night, but the crowd at Sigur Rós was lively and engaged, definitely a plus. This band is unique and fascinating, and I was completely and utterly wrapped up in the evocative beauty of their music. It was certainly a spiritual experience for me and many others in the crowd.


Though these guys have been lying low since the band's 2009 Tonight: Franz Ferdinand, Franz is back with a kick. They played all their old favorites and had the packed main stage dancing it out during the whole set. These Scots really know how to rock out, ending their act with all four members concurrently participating in a 5 minute drum solo (on one drum set). 


It was a full-on dance party at the Panhandle when Electric Guest took the stage; their songs were just made to dance to. The lively tunes, reminiscent of 70s funk and jazz, combined with the killer falsetto of lead singer, Asa Taccone, are certainly a crowd pleaser. This band released their debut album, Mondo, only April of this year and are bound to be heard more and more these next few months.


Stevie Wonder has and always will be a legend. Everyone had a blast at his set, with the whole crowd singing and grooving, making it was a fantastic way to end the weekend. Not only did he play many of his most popular songs (did you know he's had more than 30 top ten hits??), but Stevie also played some great covers, like "My Girl," "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)," and more. Mr. Wonder also took the time to emphasize his well-known philosophy of loving everyone, and urged us at the festival to do the same. His great music and soulful ease on stage continues to make him a great performer.

Having seen this band at Sasquatch, I knew that Alabama Shakes would draw a huge crowd, but nothing could have prepared me (or the rest of the festival-goers) for the massive amounts of people at their set. The whole "Lindley Meadow" was PACKED with thousands of people, all vying for a chance to see Brittany Howard and the rest of her crew play their well-known tunes. Never turn down the chance to see these guys live, they play a show like no other!

Regina Spektor
This girl's got guts. It has to be mildly terrifying, stepping out onto a huge stage to a large crowd of eager fans. But you wouldn't guess that Regina has any qualms about performing. She started her set with an amazing acapella tune and her act just got better from there. Her voice is as impeccable live as it is on her album, and her quirky style and sweet demeanor really drew me in. A very talented singer-songwriter, indeed.

Photos by Rachel Fidler

June 18, 2012

Reviewed: Tech N9ne

Highline Ballroom, New York, NY

I know what you're thinking: Tech N9ne doesn't really fit in on this website. I have to agree with you, but I've always been a fan of the Kansas City rapper's intensely rhythmic, insanely fast flow. Just one listen to "Like Yeah," the first track on his 2008 album, Killer, (and the track that introduced me to Tech) and you can't at least be curious. With hard-hitting, intricate production, and rhymes that will make your head spin, his music is a lot of fun to say the least. Tech is currently on the record-breaking Hostile Takeover Tour, bringing him, Machine Gun Kelly, ¡Mayday!, Krizz Kaliko, Prozak, and Stevie Stone to 90 cities in 99 days, making it the longest hip-hop tour in history. When I heard that I would be in town to see the tour in New York, I had to catch the king of Kansas City in action. Plus, I got a kick out of seeing Tech N9ne and Michael Kiwanuka on the same stage within a week!

Unfortunately, MGK, the opener I was most looking forward to, was banned from performing after an altercation with a bouncer earlier on tour. But Tech made up for it. Running through nearly all of his dozens of hits, he kept the crowd going nuts all night. While his name may not be one that you hear every day, Tech N9ne has a huge number of fans, and they come out in droves to his tours. I can't say I really fit in with the crowd, but I most definitely went to the craziest party in New York City last night. And Tech was the host. The light show was killer and Tech has audience control down to a science, mesmerizing the hordes with his machine-gun like delivery. The crazy thing is that this was the 78th show of the tour, and they showed no sign of slowing down.

Tech N9ne-"No Can Do"

June 16, 2012

Reviewed: The Tallest Man on Earth

Photo by Andrew Hanson

I made the three hour trek from San Diego to Los Angeles last Tuesday, and though sitting through LA traffic during rush hour is always painful, my soul was healed by the amazing man I had traveled to see, Kristian Matsson. Matsson (known by the moniker "The Tallest Man on Earth") performed a sold-out show at the Wiltern the day after his new album, There's No Leaving Now, was released.

I'm generally not keen on sit-down shows, but this was a whole different caliber of performance. Sparse, yet subtly powerful; his voice is that much more beautiful and raw live. Every tune, from his more recognizable singles to brand new songs, was engaging and dynamic, constantly highlighting Matsson's immense musical talent. Matsson embodied a kind of nervous energy on stage, meandering around with his guitar and emphatically throwing his pick away after every song. His deep, gravely voice matched nicely with his dry sense of humor, and though much of his mumbling was rather prosaic, the crowd didn't care. The audience was in love, whistling and shouting compliments to Matsson between songs; at one point he sarcastically asked, "Did you guys pay money just to yell things?"

The Tallest Man kept us all bewitched by his music, even during the quieter tunes. Matsson's two song encore included a piano version of "The Dreamer," full of emotion with a silent, captivated audience. For his final song, "Thrown Right At Me," his wife Amanda Bergman, a fellow Swedish singer-songwriter, came out and sang with him. An intimate, beautiful end to a perfect night, with two standing ovations by the crowd.
Check out his extensive tour dates below!

June 06, 2012

Reviewed: Dan Mangan and Blind Pilot

Wesbter Hall, New York, NY

While Blind Pilot may have headlined the show last night at Webster Hall, I attended to see Dan Mangan, the Canadian folk crooner behind one of the best albums of 2011, Oh Fortune. Facing a lukewarm crowd without his usual band behind him, Mangan had a difficult task to win over the audience. But he was up for it. He adapted most of Oh Fortune for one guitar (quite a feat considering how full of activity that album is), and it worked in his favor. Quieting all the background made his voice (one of the best in the biz in my opinion) stand out more. The quiver in his voice was audible with only soft strums behind it. Quite a few times during the show he reminded me a great deal of Glen Hansard. And that is one of the highest compliments I can give a singer. Most of his songs translated very well into slower, gentler, acoustic versions, especially "Sold," an emotional track about growing old from his 2010 album, Nice, Nice, Very Nice. While Blind Pilot put on a nice performance, it was almost boringly straightforward, devoid of risks. Mangan on the other hand, laid all his cards out on the table, putting himself at the mercy of the audience, and he knocked it out of the park. Check out his tour dates below.

April 21, 2012

Reviewed: The Lumineers with Kopecky Family Band

The Red Room @ Cafe 939, Boston, MA

Between The Lumineers' set and their encore, the manager of the intimate 200-capacity venue took the stage to share a few words. "These bands have outgrown this venue," she said. "We were lucky to book this tour right when things were getting big." Boy was she right. The sold-out, intimate, heartwarming show was clearly a sign of things to come for the fantastically rustic Denver trio.

Openers The Kopecky Family Band gave me as a pleasant surprise. The Nashville group (not actually a family) played a rousing set of swamp-rock that brought to mind their former tourmates, Givers. The members busted out some hidden talents including cameos of accordion, pedal steel guitar, trombone, and cello. A great match for The Lumineers, the faux-siblings let us hear some new tracks that they had been working on, and won over a crowd that was clearly in attendance for the other performers. Frontman Gabe Simon's voice proved to be the highlight of their set, echoing out over the dancing listeners. Also, they were the only band I have ever seen to pass out instruments into the audience. 

Fronted by Wesley Schultz, The Lumineers made the already small venue feel like a living room jam session. Roaring through a concise set filled with hand-clapping and foot stomping, the band radiated fun as much as the crowd. Schultz's harmonies with cellist Neyla Pekarek were much more powerful live, and added more pep to "Dead Sea" as well as lead single "Ho Hey." 

Because the group only has one fantastic album under their belts, they managed to squeeze in some beautiful covers. A raucous rendition of "I Ain't Nobody's Problem," written by their friend Sawmill Joe, showed the band's prowess when it comes to straightaway blues crooning. They ended the performance with "The Weight," a tribute to Levon Helm, that they claimed they weren't too good at. On the contrary, the cover really showcased Pekarek's stunning, powerful vocals that had been hinted at throughout the set. 

On the love song "Dead Sea," Schultz sings "You'll never sink when you are with me." While in the song the words are directed towards a love interest, he might as well be talking to the crowd. After that show, anyone in the audience will not sink for quite some time. 

March 28, 2012

Delta Spirit at The Paradise



Matt Vasquez's trademark howl was in prime form last night as he led Delta Spirit on stage at The Paradise Rock Club in Boston. Making the small venue feel even more intimate, the group powered through a concise, electrifying set. Focusing on their extraordinary new album, Vasquez and crew took their most raucous material and turned it up a notch, demonstrating exactly what a great live show should do. Set opener "Empty House" proved early on how exciting their new material is, and they kept the energy high all night with classics like "People, C'mon," and their latest single "California". With an immense stage presence, the San Diego-based five-piece projected their energy into every corner of the venue, to every fan in the sold-out crowd. All in all, an excellent night. Check out their video for "California" below, along with their upcoming tour dates.

Delta Spirit-"Empty House"

Delta Spirit-"Time Bomb"



March 25, 2012

Reviewed - Bowerbirds

Paradise Rock Club - Boston, MA

Last night I headed to the Paradise Rock Club to see Bowerbirds live for the first time. After their recent release, The Clearing, turned me from a casual fan into a passionate one, I had high expectations for their live show. The fuller sound of the album was present immediately on stage, as the group (now including a cellist, second guitarist, and drummer) ran through the majority of their latest disc. Aside from a few past favorites, including "House of Diamonds," "Northern Lights," and "In Our Talons," the set was very focused on displaying new material. And thank goodness, their new sound translated extremely well live. Especially on set closer "Tuck The Darkness In," the building energy on the record was expanded and made even more powerful. The group even started a few songs over due to little mistakes. One may think that would detract from the performance, but it in fact made the show more genuine and raw. I urge fans of the folk group to see them live, hopefully while they still play a great deal of the new album. It is exquisite. 

Bowerbirds-"Tuck The Darkness In"

Bowerbirds-"Walk The Furrows"

March 08, 2012

Reviewed - The Black Keys

TD Garden, Boston, MA

Last night, I had the pleasure of heading to the TD Garden to catch The Black Keys as they made their way across the country in support of El Camino, one of my favorite albums of 2011. I must first admit, after having them blow me away at Coachella last year, my expectations were high, especially now that they had a whole new album of material to showcase. Luckily, Mr. Auerbach and Mr. Carney rose to the occasion. Not once during their hour-and-a-half set did the energy level drop. From the first note of "Howlin' For You," to the last cymbal crash of "I Got Mine," the sold out crowd was jumping up and down, singing along to every word. Check out the hit-packed setlist here

The Keys had a fuller sound than ever, thanks to two backing musicians, and sounded right at home in the enormous arena. In a music industry currently dominated by pop music, it was refreshing to see how many fans the Keys have managed to make in the past few years with their hard-hitting blues rock. Last night, nobody at the show would have wanted to hear anything besides Auerbach's soulful croon and Carney's frantic, powerful beat. It was as if, for one night, one again, rock 'n' roll ruled the world.

The Black Keys-"I Got Mine"

December 10, 2011

Our Favorites of 2011: Live Shows

We at Write To The Beat have had the pleasure of attending dozens of concerts this past year. While most of them have provided a great opportunity to see the music we love so much recreated, only a select few shows really stood out as incredible. Read our reviews of those life-changing experiences below. Here are our favorite shows of 2011:





December 03, 2011

Reviewed - City and Colour


House of Blues, Boston, MA

Last night, I was lucky enough to be in attendance when City and Colour took the stage in Boston. Dallas Green and his powerful band tore through an hour and a half of their finest, that never included a dull moment. His beautiful falsetto rang throughout the sold-out venue and sounded even more powerful than on record. Hits off his first two albums, Sometimes and Bring Me Your Love, produced the loudest cheers from the fans who had been listening from the beginning, but his new material, from Little Hell, was not far behind. A personal highlight was during three acoustic songs Green played in the middle of the set. Before playing a heart-wrenching rendition of "Body In A Box," he urged the audience to forget about taking pictures, recording, or being able to remember the show later. More important then remembering is experiencing. And boy am I glad I experienced that. 

City and Colour-"Little Hell"

City and Colour-"Body In A Box"

November 13, 2011

Reviewed - Manchester Orchestra

House Of Blues, Boston, MA

Last night, at the House of Blues, Andy Hull and crew lit up the stage like no other. Playing a solid set filled with highlights from their last two albums, they had the fans singing along nearly the entire time. Hull's comments indicated how truly honored and still surprised the band is to play to such a crowd. As he sings in "Deer," "Dear everybody that has paid to see my band, it's still confusing, I'll never understand". Running through a softer, yet equally beautiful rendition of "Simple Math" and the crowd sing-along "Pensacola," there was never a dull moment. Their newest album, Simple Math, is one of my favorites of the year and live it was even better. The powerful moments were made all the more epic and the softer parts became even more gentle thanks to Hull's honest, heartfelt voice. If you have the chance to see them live, take the opportunity and get ready for one of the wildest, liveliest shows you will ever see.

November 11, 2011

Reviewed - Blue Scholars with Bambu

Paradise Rock Club, Boston, MA

Last night, we had the pleasure of attending an extraordinary hip-hop show at The Paradise. Northwest legends Blue Scholars had invited Los Angeles social activist/rapper Bambu to open up for them on their current Cinémetropolis tour. Bambu, whom neither of us were familiar with, won over the audience with his progressive, revolutionary ideals, and his unique, clever way of expressing them. Show highlight "The Queen Is Dead," provided a heartfelt dedication to Womens' History Month.

Geologic and Sabzi of the Blue Scholars strode onto the stage with confidence, tearing through tunes from all throughout their catalog. Geo proudly represented the Northwest up front while Sabzi kept the synth-heavy melodic beats flowing. Their excitement and energy never faltered and the show came to a dazzling climax with a powerful encore. Finishing up with the classic "North by Northwest" and "No Rest For The Weary," they left the audience satisfied, yet always wanting more.

October 30, 2011

Reviewed - The Civil Wars with Milo Greene

Berklee Performance Center, Boston, MA


After hearing that one of my favorite up and coming acts Milo Greene, was going on tour with The Civil Wars, one of the best live bands around, I knew I had to see them together. While the venue choice of the auditorium-like Berklee Performance Center was an odd one, the two acts combined to create one of my favorite shows of the year. The opening L.A.-based quintet captivated the unsuspecting crowd with their dense four-part harmonies and their lively instrument-swapping performance. All five members are extremely talented musicians in their own right, and combined, they are greater than the sum of their parts. After a solid 40 minutes of fun, The Civil Wars took the stage. 

The voices of Joy Williams and John Paul White make one think that neither of them have hit a wrong note in their lives. Playing through nearly their entire catalog, the duo also put their own twist on The Jackson 5's "I Want You Back" and Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean" to a fantastic result. With the sweetest, most pristine live harmonies I have ever heard and some extremely entertaining stage banter, The Civil Wars ran through their set with a casual grace and relaxed stage presence that is rarely seen these days. The combination of their voices is addicting and I must say I need another dose. 

October 21, 2011

Reviewed: Yellow Ostrich + Ra Ra Riot

The Paradise, Boston


This was our second time hearing Yellow Ostrich, the threesome headed by Wisconsin native Alex Schaaf. On this occasion, the boys proved yet again that their unique, often sparse sound holds up beautifully to the test of a large, energetic crowd. Schaaf, one of the most innocent, pure personalities I've ever seen hold an electric guitar, was fascinating and captivating. He added to his numerous vocal looping some heavy guitar we hadn't heard before, something that freshened many of the arrangements off their 2010 record, The Mistress. The group was unafraid to showcase some brand new work as well. Here's a sample of a few of the tracks we hope they lay down very soon. All told, I was impressed not only with the increasing creativity and chemistry of the group, but also with the crowd's reaction to the material after just a 40 minute set. If anyone deserves the adoration of the masses, it's these guys. 


Following Yellow Ostrich was Ra Ra Riot, the now well-established indie-string-pop darlings. The sextet, complete with cello and violin, immediately stormed the stage with power and energy. I was blown away by their professionalism and musicianship. The sound was crisp and the vocals spot on, and any who may have imagined that the layered string melodies on record would be difficult to replicate live were proven wholly wrong. The set featured material from both their latest record, The Orchard, and the more successful, acclaimed 2008 album The Rhumb Line. It was by no means the most creative of performances, but it was a hell of a lot of fun. They know how to get the crowd jumping, and isn't that really what we all want in life?

October 01, 2011

Reviewed - The Head And The Heart


Last night we had the pleasure of being able to make it out to The Royale in Boston, MA to witness one of the most exciting shows we have seen in quite some time. After a rousing, fun opening set by Thao and the Get Down Stay DownThe Head & The Heart took the stage. The lively sextet ran through their whole small, but powerful and thoroughly entertaining catalog, and also played three very promising new tracks. Their perfect blissful harmonies sounded better than ever and when the band let loose, the audience followed suit. The excited sold out crowd sang along to most of the songs to the pleasant surprise of the band. In only their second time in Boston they have developed a strong and loud fanbase. They accurately summed up their situation in the song "Heaven Go Easy On Me," when they sang with the crowd over and over, "We're well on our way".

Enjoy this beautiful video of one of their new tunes, "Josh McBride".


June 13, 2011

Reviewed - The Civil Wars with James Vincent McMorrow

Anthology, San Diego, CA


Last night I heard three of the most beautiful voices I have ever heard in concert. And they were all in the same show! I had the pleasure of catching The Civil Wars in concert at the intimate Anthology venue. But first, and definitely not least, James Vincent McMorrow took the stage to open for the Nashville-based duo. Running through most of his debut album, Early In The Morning (Buy on Amazon), McMorrow kept the show simple with just him and his guitar. His uniquely beautiful voice hushed the crowd and left them in awe. I didn't think it could get much better until he closed with an incredible, completely unplugged version of "If I Had A Boat".

While nobody in the audience wanted to see McMorrow leave the stage, Joy Williams and John Paul White of The Civil Wars won the hearts of the audience after singing their first word. With voices that McMorrow described as being "genetically modified to go together," their harmonies were out of this world. The two were meant to sing together, putting on a completely flawless show. They played nearly all their songs, and even put their own twist on incredible covers of "You Are My Sunshine," "I Want You Back," and "Billie Jean". If you have the chance to see this show live, you will not regret it. They will tear the venue down. Buy their album, Barton Hollow here.




The Civil Wars-"I've Got This Friend"

James Vincent McMorrow-"If I Had A Boat"

June 02, 2011

Sasquatch Wrap-Up

Half of WTTB made the trek this past weekend to George, WA to catch the Sasquatch Music Festival at the Gorge Amphitheater. Here's our take:

THE BEST:


Mariachi El Bronx:
The Mariachi-style side project of punk group The Bronx started off the first day of the festival with a bang, bringing modern influence to a genre ruled by traditional tunes.


DJ Anjali & The Incredible Kid:

These Portland, Oregon based DJs played every night at the Gorge including a marathon 3.5 hour set Friday night. Incorporating Bollywood and traditional Indian tunes into dance music, they kept the crowd excited with their lively and refreshing sound. 


The Head and The Heart: 
Seattle natives The Head and The Heart may have been the fan favorite throughout the whole festival. Drawing an enormous and eager crowd to their early Saturday set, the sextet ran through most of their debut album with a lively and pretty much perfect show!


Local Natives:
Following The Head and The Heart was a tough billing for L.A.-based Local Natives, but they rose to the occasion, creating a spontaneous dance party on the hill with their intricate drumming and sugar-sweet harmonies.


Bright Eyes:
Conor Oberst led his band through an extremely powerful hour-long set Saturday evening, including political rants, crying audience members, and an emotional rendition of his hit, "Poison Oak".


Death Cab for Cutie:
In their native state of Washington, Ben Gibbard and crew set the standard for a festival headliner on the second night of the fest. Running through hit after hit to a packed Gorge audience, Gibbard previewed songs from Codes and Keys, the group's new album to a great response. 


Fitz & The Tantrums:
The L.A. soul group lead by singer Michael Fitzpatrick got the crowd warmed up for a great day of music on Sunday. With a powerful, interactive performance, Fitz got fans moving from the front railing to the top of the Gorge.


Flogging Molly:
Irish-punk icons Flogging Molly put on a rousing show complete with slow acoustic ballads, mosh-inspiring Celtic punk, and hilarious stage banter from frontman Dave King. 


Givers:
Winning the award for the best surprise of the weekend, Givers started off the last day of the fest with a bang, playing songs off their upcoming album, In Light. The Louisiana group brings to mind a younger Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, complete with incredible vocal harmonies, fun danceable tunes, and an infectious Southern influence.


Chromeo:
Electro-funk duo Chromeo packed the Gorge with the biggest main-stage crowd of the last day as early as 3 PM! Fans streamed in from all over the festival to catch the infectious dance stylings of Dave-1 and P-Thugg.


Macklemore & Ryan Lewis:
Feeling right at home in his native Northwest, Macklemore represented his hometown with a fervor like no other. Putting on one of the most exciting hip-hop shows around, the Seattle MC, backed by producer Ryan Lewis, a violinist, and a horn player, had the whole crowd singing and screaming along. He even got his set time extended by a few songs due to the huge crowd!

Rodrigo Y Gabriela:
The Flamenco duo's set started off slow, with not many people showing up to their evening set. But by the time they got into the groove of things with a Jimi Hendrix medley, the crowd had nearly doubled and everyone was getting their Latin groove on. 


The Decemberists:
Colin Meloy and crew were slightly screwed with a set time during electronic phenomenon Skrillex, but despite a small crowd, still put on a phenomenal show, playing tunes from their new album, The King Is Dead, and closing with a rousing ten minute rendition of "The Mariner's Revenge".


The RedLaser Acoustic Tent:

iPhone app RedLaser led by far the greatest promotion of the weekend with their intimate acoustic tent. After downloading the app and scanning a barcode, fans had a chance to win one of 200 tickets given away each day allowing entrance into the tent. Throughout the weekend, the tent was rocked with mini sets by The Head & The Heart, Foster the People, Givers, Fitz & The Tantrums, Flogging Molly, and The Decemberists.


THE WORST:


Bob Mould:
Bob Mould, the very first performer on the main stage, confused listeners and became somewhat of a joke among the crowd after his incredibly lukewarm performance, consisting solely of his voice and an over-distorted electric guitar. 


Friday:
While a 4-day festival is a great concept, the first day of the festival turned out to be kind of a half-baked idea. The day included only nine artists, compared to the 33 performing each of the next three days. While it was a nice quiet day at the Gorge, it seemed like an odd add-on to an otherwise excellent festival.


Iron & Wine:
The crowd was extremely excited about Sam Beam and his beautiful musings as Iron & Wine. But after the group performed pieces almost exclusively from Kiss Each Other Clean, their latest album that represented a large departure in style, the audience ended up fairly disappointed. 


The Flaming Lips:
The Flaming Lips drew one of the largest crowds of the entire festival, at least for the beginning of their set. After making an exciting grand entrance and showing off a cool mic-camera and huge balloons, the set quickly lost the interest of thousands of fans. Frontman Wayne Coyne announced that the band was planning on playing The Soft Bulletin in its entirety, and proceeded to babble, explaining the origin of every verse of the first song, and causing fans to stream towards other stages.