March 31, 2012


Siblings who can sing often can create harmonies that are greater than the sum of their parts. The fact that voices can be literally related, while still different, can create the underpinnings of a great band (See The Belle Brigade and The Avett Brothers). After getting a huge amount of buzz with a little help from a tweet by Kesha, LA group HAIM added to their hype by ending up on quite a few Best of SXSW lists. The band, made up of three sisters, mixes R&B vocals with old school rock sounds to create something familiar, yet very intriguing, and stunningly simple. Their debut, Forever EP, is available for free download below. Watch out for these girls; they are still young and have plenty of time to take over.


Field Report

Before Bon Iver, there was DeYarmond Edison, a band based in North Carolina, led by the one and only Justin Vernon. While Vernon has moved on to bigger and brighter things, and the rest of the group formed Megafaun, one member of the group got left behind in Wisconsin, before the move south. Chris Porterfield, also known as Field Report, will release his debut album in July and has given us two songs in advance. The tracks are beautiful, quiet, and acoustic, not unlike Vernon's, but with their own twist on the sound. For fans of relaxing, woodsy, folk music, these tracks are highly recommended.

Field Report-"Fergus Falls"

Field Report-"I Am Not Waiting Anymore"

March 30, 2012

Submission Of The Week - John Vietnam

This Submission of the Week comes to us from a young rapper from Chicago, currently attending University of Wisconsin-Madison. John Vietnam (born John Nguyen) has a unique flow and some serious wordplay skills. His videos combine honesty and modesty with old school beats and strong collaborators. The strongest of his videos, a collaboration with Smiley Gatmouth, is supposedly off an upcoming mixtape. We can't wait! As he says in a warning to other rappers, he doesn't "need a stepping stool to snatch you off the pedestal."

Want to have your music featured as a submission of the week? Send your music, or music you recommend to

March 28, 2012

Delta Spirit at The Paradise

Matt Vasquez's trademark howl was in prime form last night as he led Delta Spirit on stage at The Paradise Rock Club in Boston. Making the small venue feel even more intimate, the group powered through a concise, electrifying set. Focusing on their extraordinary new album, Vasquez and crew took their most raucous material and turned it up a notch, demonstrating exactly what a great live show should do. Set opener "Empty House" proved early on how exciting their new material is, and they kept the energy high all night with classics like "People, C'mon," and their latest single "California". With an immense stage presence, the San Diego-based five-piece projected their energy into every corner of the venue, to every fan in the sold-out crowd. All in all, an excellent night. Check out their video for "California" below, along with their upcoming tour dates.

Delta Spirit-"Empty House"

Delta Spirit-"Time Bomb"

March 27, 2012

Alabama Shakes - "I Ain't The Same"

Do you feel like you have changed a lot since being a child? Alabama Shakes certainly do and they wrote the song "I Ain't The Same" about that very feeling. Luckily for us, that change has provided us with an excellent tune from the group! They recently stopped by Guitar Center to perform an acoustic version for Rolling Stone. Their debut album, Boys & Girls, will be released on April 10th. Enjoy!

Shower Hour - Spring Show #21

Last night I had another great hour on the air. I played lots of new music from The Shins, Delta Spirit, Yellow Ostrich, and more! Take a listen here!

The Tallest Man On Earth Announces New Album

Swedish folk god Kristian Matsson, The Tallest Man On Earth, will be releasing a new album, There's No Leaving Now, on June 12th. As you might imagine, we are beyond excited. While his last release, The Wild Hunt, is awfully hard to follow, we have faith that he will not disappoint.

There’s No Leaving Now Tracklist:
01. To Just Grow Away
02. Revelation Blues
03. Leading Me Now
04. 1904
05. Bright Lanterns
06. There’s No Leaving Now
07. Wind and Walls
08. Little Brother
09. Criminals
10. On Every Page